World Player 2001
 World Player 2000
 World Player 1999
 World Player 1998
 World Player 1997
 World Player 1996
 World Player 1995 for official news and information on the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan".
FIFA World Player of the Year 2001
Luis Figo crowned for the first time
Mia Hamm is FIFA Women’s Player of the Year

And the winner is ... Luis Figo.
Photo Kurt Schorrer, FIFA
Luis Figo is the 2001 FIFA World Player of the Year. The talented Portuguese playmaker heads the list for the first time ever, having finished second in last year’s vote. England captain David Beckham came second in the voting, with Figo’s Real Madrid team-mate, Raúl of Spain, finishing third. In the women’s category, USA star Mia Hamm topped the list ahead of China’s Sun Wen and her fellow American Tiffeny Milbrett.

2001 FIFA World Player
Men: vote results by
" Coach " Player
Women: vote results by
" Coach " Player
Compared with the 2000 poll, this year’s result was much closer. Figo finished with 250 points, ahead of Beckham (238), who again has to settle for second place, having also come close in 1999. Positions three to five were even more keenly contested.

FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking
France, Costa Rica and Honduras take awards

France, Costa Rica and Honduras received special prizes at today’s FIFA World Player Gala in Zurich for their exploits this year in the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking.

This one was a real turn up for the books... Australia's World Cup-ending defeat by Uruguay in their final game undoubtedly played a significant role in the Team of the Year award going to Honduras, who incidentally also had to shunt their World Cup aspirations onto the buffers when they were beaten in their last game in Mexico City. No other team could amass so many points (and distinguish themselves as giant-killers) as the Hondurans did in their best matches.

The programme for the gala is as follows:
13.30 - 14.45 (ca.): Media conference at the Zurich World Trade Center, Leutschenbachstrasse, opposite Television Production Centre.
15.00: Invited guests to arrive at Television Production Centre
15.45: Attendees to take their seats in "Studio 1" at the Television Production Centre
16.00 - 17.15: 2001 FIFA World Player Gala

The media working area will be located at the Zurich World Trade Center.

FIFA Fair Play Award to Paolo di Canio
The FIFA Committee for Security Matters and Fair Play agreed to award Paolo di Canio for a special act of good sportsmanship in an English Premiership match last season. Faced with the possibility of scoring an easy goal, di Canio chose instead to catch the ball with his hands and thus stop the play in order to allow the injured opposing goalkeeper to be treated.

A teenage Ghanaian player, Sumaila Abdallah, will receive a FIFA Fair Play diploma for having saved the life of an opponent with the kiss of life when the latter was knocked unconscious in a local match in Ghana. Both awards will be presented on the occasion of the FIFA World Player gala in Zurich on 17 December.

FIFA Men’s Player
 1. Luis Figo
 2. David Beckham
 3. Raúl
 Coaches voting: 130
 1. Zinedine Zidane
 2. Luis Figo
 3. Rivaldo
 Coaches voting: 150
 1. Rivaldo
 2. David Beckham
 3. Gabriel Batistuta
 Coaches voting: 140
 1. Zinedine Zidane
 2. Ronaldo
 3. Davor Suker
 Coaches voting: 132
 1. Ronaldo
 2. Roberto Carlos
 3. Dennis Bergkamp
     Zinedine Zidane
 Coaches voting: 121
 1. Ronaldo
 2. George Weah
 3. Alan Shearer
 Coaches voting: 120
 1. George Weah
 2. Paolo Maldini
 3. Jürgen Klinsmann
 Coaches voting: 95
 1. Romario
 2. Hristo Stoitchkov
 3. Roberto Baggio
 Coaches voting: 83
 1. Roberto Baggio
 2. Romario
 3. Dennis Bergkamp
 Coaches voting: 71
 1. Marco Van Basten
 2. Hristo Stoitchkov
 3. Thomas Hässler
 Coaches voting: 71
 1. Lothar Matthäus
 2. Jean-Pierre Papin
 3. Gary Lineker
 Coaches voting: 66
FIFA Women’s Player
 1. Mia Hamm
 2. Sun Wen
 3. Tiffeny Milbrett
 Coaches voting: 72
2001 FIFA Awards
English Español
Français Deutsch